What is meant by “cook until the oil separates” in Indian curry recipes?

I am making my beloved Hot and Spicy Hyderabadi Tomato Chutney, and intrigued by this step, which is not always men, but seems to make a difference.

Here is a discussion on stack exchange .

I think there might be a name for this. Bhunao?

“…the next important step is that you have to fry (bhunao) the masala well. Keep sautéing them until the moisture gets evaporated and it thickens and you would see trace amounts of oil in separating and oozing on the sides of the masala.”

On reddit I read "Maggi’s website mentions a ‘pecah minyak’ which basically means to cook until the oil floats to the top, "

Does anyone have any insights?

1 Like

I have zero Indian cooking experience. Hopefully @Saregama can explain what exactly it is. (And we all learn something, too.)

2 Likes

Based on your description, I wonder if it means to cook the dish until the liquid is reduced?

Some of Marcella Hazan‘s Italian recipes include an instruction to cook “until the oil floats free of the tomato” and I always thought it meant to cook down something until that point.

Now I am curious, too.

1 Like

Yay! A fellow conspirator! A few more references.

"…a classic Malaysian chicken curry, splitting the sauce is such a key step in the process that we even have a culinary term for it: pecah minyak, literally meaning “breaking the oil.”

And on Facebook

Facebook Penang Cooking Class

""In my household what you just described is “naik minyak”…oil rises to the top…“pecah minyak” is …curdles, breaks down and releases oil. "

There is also a comment about “Taek man” in Thai.

1 Like

Hot and Spicy Hyderabadi Tomato Chutney

This is where I usually worry about messing up vs doing better. Cook faster, slower or stay the course (with regard to how much heat on a gas burner)?

I stayed the course.