Deviled Eggs - your favorite version, tips, and tricks?

I’m relatively new to deviled eggs.

I learned to eat them from a friend who grew up in NC and always brought them to potlucks. BUT she used her Spanish dad’s family recipe, not a southern one, lol.

This has also helped my boiled egg game, as I’ve had to learn the correct way to do it for my preferred texture of the egg white.

Since I’ve been experimenting with them, I fall back on a wasabi version and a smoked paprika one.

This week I tried chipotle and harissa variations, and a pickled recipe… nope, not doing that last one again; ruined the texture of the egg white for me.

I usually make only a few eggs (for myself), so I don’t pipe the yolk mixture - it’s too little. Wish it could be prettier, but it tastes good, so oh well.

So… what are your favorites? Any tips and tricks?

2 Likes

Wasabi - used some wasabi mayo cut with Greek yogurt because my homemade mayo turned. Scallions mixed in.

Harissa - got a bit runny because of the harissa… added some cumin, aleppo pepper, and urfa pepper to finish. Tasted good despite the unfortunate appearance.

Chipotle plus pickled - the filling was delicious, but the texture of the egg white from a day of pickling was not my thing. Pickled onions were lovely.

11 Likes

I prefer a pretty simple deviled egg. I get asked to make them frequently. I think the most important thing is to gently break up the hot yolk with a fork, keeping it light and fluffy. Then add the mustard while the yolks are still warm. Both of these tips seem to make a big difference in the end result. Simple dishes need good ingredients. When there are few components the quality or lack of really shows.

12 Likes

So do you put in anything other than mustard? Thanks for the tip on the warm yolk!

1 Like

Metal cookie spring loaded scooper to fill the steamed whites with the yolk mixture.

I steam basket a dozen at a time. Ice water bath to stop cooking, peel, prepare, fill.