Sous Vide Cooking...who does it, what do you cook, how do you do it?

I’m a hobbiest home cook, and I am all over the cooking planet of what I like to do. I am interested in all kinds of cuisines, and actively cook recipes from many of them. I love cooking classic recipes, and I am an avid user of cast iron, carbon steel, and copper cookware. Contrast that with the fact that I’ve been an avid user of sous vide cooking since Anova first released their immersion circulator. I’m currently on my 2nd circulator…

I use sous vide a lot. It is my go to method for cooking fish. I have not made a steak the “conventional way” for several years now…it’s sous vide and cast iron for me. I’ve done prime rib in a sous vide, pork roasts, duck breasts. It’s become my go to method for beef tongue, (lengua tacos are the bomb!) as well as making carnitas.

There’s a lot of good resources out there on the internet, but I tend to gravitate to Serious Eats for my sous vide guide.

Who else uses sous vide a lot…and what do you cook?

FWIW…my latest research project is making sous vide fried chicken. While I love making fried chicken, my recurrent failure is over browning the crust while trying to insure the meat inside is cooked. Pre cooking the chicken pieces sous vide should be just the ticket for insuring the meat is cooked,…the frying will just be to brown the crust. For those of you who have used sous vide for fried chicken…i have a few questions. Do you brine your chicken before you sous vide it…do you cook it in the brine? Or just avoid the brining step altogether since you are sous vide cooking it? The recipes I have read are all over the place in this step.

3 Likes

Steak mainly. I like it.

We do our Robbie burns nite haggis that way too

It’s a pain in the ass. I just grill steaks too. Still I like it.