Uses for leftover mashed potatoes

I’m very new to Food52 and while reading through a few recipes found this topic which I thought would marry well with best uses for leftover turkey topic this time of year. Several of the highlighted recipes would not have dawned on me and several elevate enough to warrant making extra mashed potatoes…as if, ha!

https://food52.com/blog/24729-best-leftover-mashed-potato-recipes

please add your own ideas to the topic. TIA.
Rooster

1 Like

Some of these sound great, some (chocolate :nauseated_face: ) not so much.

I always make extra mashed potatoes and/or bring them as leftovers. I like mashed potatoes, but they’re even better the next day. Potato cakes! Mashed potatoes mixed with diced onions, s&p and fried in butter until crispy crust forms.

2 Likes

Thanks for the link. There are few in there that are right up my alley.

Gnocchi (love gnocchi, but not sure if my mashed potatoes would work in that recipe, too much milk, but I’d try it).

Potato Gateau - Super easy conversion but adding a few new flavors to make it seem like you’re not eating the same leftovers.

Brandade Croquettes - I wonder why I’ve never thought to make croquettes. I’d try that one.

Pierogi - why haven’t I been doing this? I love pierogi and always have leftover potatoes.

They didn’t mention it, but the pierogi made me think of it . . . why not knish - why don’t I make those too? I love a knish.

(Unfortunately I won’t have leftovers to play with this year since I’ll be traveling for Tday this year. But lasts year I “remade” a mini-thanksgiving meal so I could have leftovers once I got home. Will probably do the same this year.)

2 Likes

Lol, one of those hidden ingred recipes on the cake!

My family typically makes blintz and fried cakes with leftover mashed potatoes. I am kind of tired of both.

1 Like

I guess I don’t have mashed enough to get tired of them.