Portillo's is coming to town

…and I know nothing about Portillo’s. Looks interesting, though, what do you all think about Portillo’s?

The only Portillo I know is Michael P - ex Member of the British Parliament and one time UK Defence Secretary. Now spends his time doing TV documentaries taking various railway journeys - for which I like him a lot more than his time as a politician

1 Like

I liked their Chicago style hot dog and Italian beef sandwich back when I visited what I believe is their flagship location in Chicago a few years ago. I’m not an expert on either subject though.

3 Likes

chicago dog and italian beef sandwich – yum

Don’t forget giardiniera on the italian beef sandwich

What is giardiniera? - News - News | Portillo’s (portillos.com)

5 Likes

Well, that’s two Portillos that I don’t know. But if his shows ever end up on PBS, Netflix or BBC America, I’ll give it a looksee.

Wow, that looks good, very good.

1 Like

Where are you?

Portillo’s is a local Chicago chain known for their hot dogs, italian beef sandwiches, and the ‘chocolate cake shake’, which is what it sounds like: a slice of chocolate cake shoved in a cup w/ icecream and milk and syrup and blended.

For a long logn time, they were biggest franchised spot for hot dogs, and they stayed true to their roots by using Vienna hot dogs, a local Chicago brand that, IMHO, is the king of all frankfurters. Natural, snappy casing, all-beef, just the right spices and salt level, etc…

However, Portillo’s is trying to go national, and in doing so, has abandoned Vienna. They have their own dogs manufactured now, presumably because Vienna isn’t going to build another factory out west and shipping isn’t feasible. So you get what I consider an inferior hot dog. When I go back home to Chicago to visit family, I won’t go to Portillo’s for my hot dog fix any more.

Their Italian beef is still pretty good. The hot dogs aren’t bad. But to someone who cares, they aren’t real Chicago hot dogs.

5 Likes