HELP with soft-boiled eggs, plz!

I’m a fairly good cook, but soft-boiled eggs have recently become my new nemesis (I’ve lamented my bad poaching skillz already, no need to go there :crazy_face: ).

Maybe it’s the induction fields here in my summer pad, maybe it’s the eggs, but I’m at my wits’ end.

What are your fool-proof methods for fully cooked whites & creamy yolks?

TIA!

2 Likes

I’ve always had success using the residual heat method. That is taking eggs straight from the fridge, putting in cold water , bringing the water to the boil. Them turn off the heat and let them sit for a specified time, depending on how you want them. I use the timings as per the link below, I used it yesterday as it goes.

3 Likes

I don’t refrigerate my eggs 🥹

I put eggs in 1" of water, bring to a boil, simmer for 4:00. I do refrigerate my eggs, so you may want to shave off some time. I’ll make a softboiled egg in a few hours and post a picture of it, so you can see whether my result looks right to you.

1 Like

You got it. This will be my next attempt. Shave off, what - 30 seconds, you think, if they’re at room temp?

I might start with the full 4:00 for attempt #1 - it occurs to me that I don’t mind my whites a little runny.

Yah, I cannot abide spoogy whites. They squick me out. Context is everything :wink:

1 Like

For a cooked firm white and a runny yolk: bring water to boil and turn back to simmer. I use a scooped shape cross between a slotted spoon and a turner to hold the eggs. I lower them into the simmering water and leave them in/on the spoon, keeping them off the bottom. Five minutes.

I, too, suck at poaching eggs. I sous vide them for this very reason. Sous vide is the no-brainer method, if you have enough reason to invest in a sous vide device. If not, then I have used the residual heat method as well with some success. I find results will vary depending on the size and freshness of the eggs you put in there.

1 Like