Can we talk about Wondra, cornstarch, and other thickners?

I find myself once again making this. Husband doesn’t like mushrooms so I’m riffing with some bottle from TJ’s.

Husband wants cups of gravy, not spoonfuls of *sauce", so I’m trying to make extra.

Not only am I questioning “serve right away”, but also the choice of cornstarch over Wondra.

1 Like

The reason for the cornstarch is to mimic the gravy that you usually get with these, which is never a classic one made with roux.
I love this recipe and can actually make it here but hadn’t thought of it, so this is a good reminder.

1 Like

Thank you! I often end up using Wondra. I like Wondra. How would you say cornstarch gravy is different from roux? Forgive me; I’m still learning.

I found this.

2 Likes

He mentions it in the article:

“Why cornstarch here? It’s a fair question, since we usually lean on other thickeners, like gelatin (whether naturally present in the stock or added in the form of unflavored gelatin), to increase a sauce’s body without affecting its flavor, the way flour and cornstarch can. In response, I point to that original Swanson’s TV dinner that introduced me to Salisbury steak. It included a brown gravy with a flavor and texture that made it seem like it was thickened with cornstarch: kind of glossy, and just a hair cloudy. I don’t know if that’s what Swanson actually used back then, but it tasted like it. To me, that makes it an almost inherent quality of a Salisbury steak gravy. It’s similar to the reason why I sometimes like the floury flavor of a roux-based cheese sauce in baked mac and cheese—it just tastes right to me.”

But in general cornstarch has a more neutral flavor and a different texture. It produces a more slick sauce and it’s glossy vs cloudy as a sauce made with flour is.
Cornstarch is pure starch whereas flour is not, so with flour it is more present in a sauce, so to speak.