11-12 lb whole bone-in lamb leg

Hello:

I accidentally purchased a large 11-12 lb bone-in lamb leg (I thought I bought a medium size one, but clicked the wrong link). It will arrive from the online vendor next week and I am emptying my fridge to store it.

I have no prior experience with whole lamb legs or large cuts as such and would appreciate your help. My questions:

1. I see that some recipes call for wrapping the leg in cotton netting and some don’t. What should I do? I don’t even know what size of cotton netting I will need for such a large cut.

2. I have a tiny family and for sure there will be lots of leftovers. I prefer medium-rare lamb. Will medium-rare meat stay well in the freezer and in the fridge, assuming I eat it soon? I don’t want to get food poisoned, but don’t want to eat overcooked red meat either.

3. Can you provide tips about how to cook it so that the whole leg gets cooked as evenly as possible? I am worried that the outside will get overcooked while the innermost part is rare.

4. Shall I roast it on a rack or on a roast pan? I don’t have a V-shaped rack but a flat rack with holes.

Thank you very much for your help and advice!

1 Like

Well, if you could cook it sous-vide, that would solve the temperature problem. If that is not possible, you could cut out the bones (not that difficult, if you go slowly, with a sharp knife) and then cook part of it and freeze the rest. Otherwise you could cook the whole leg in a moderate oven, say 300℉, until it reaches your preferred temperature, and then cut it into portions. One to serve, the rest to freeze.

2 Likes

Good advice. Or you could saw it in half and freeze one roast. 10 to 12 pounds is a very large leg of lamb. Might it be that you’re getting two?

3 Likes

Thank you. I don’t have the capability to sous vide. Deboning it is a good idea.

I am going to get one big leg. I asked the vendor to change my order but they couldn’t. I don’t have a meat saw.

1 Like