Beans, beans, beans....

You know the rest.

I need ideas for Flageolet and Yellow Eye.

I’ve already cooked the Flageolet . This is my first time cooking Flageolet, and bought them for cassoulet, but that’s not happening.

I’m thinking about this RG Flageolet Bean Salad recipe with Roasted Peppers and Capers

Or

Flageolet Salad with Lemon, Radishes, and Oven-Roasted Tomatoes.

In the summer, I hoard oven roasted tomatoes, and roasted peppers.

Here are the soaked/brined yellow eyes. I think you use them like white beans.

Anybody know how long I can leave them soaked before I cook them, or a basic, versatile recipe that I can cook then freeze?

5 Likes

(post deleted by author)

2 Likes

There was an old Gourmet recipe for white bean salad with tuna - very few ingredients, everything shone. Iirc tomatoes, a bit of onion, the beans, and good canned or bottled (in oil) tuna. Maybe parsley. A light dressing. Delicious.

ETA: Maybe this one? Though I’m sure it was mid-late 90s. Skip the cucumber, add some red onion, and let the beans marinate in the dressing for a bit before you add the tuna.

This looks good too.

1 Like

Perfect!

Changing water now…

I made rajma the other day using Rick Stein’s recipe. It calls for kidney beans but I only had flagelot so used them. I also added shredded cavalo nero near the end . It turned out quite well.

3 Likes

Preeti Mistry cooked some flageolet too…
https://www.instagram.com/reel/COLr3FJhWD5/?igshid=m4afyhsrxwaq

1 Like

That’s what friends are for!

1 Like
1 Like

My favorite way with flageolets: sauté allium(s) of choice in olive oil, add whole thin-skinned cherry tomatoes till they burst, add halved and sliced endive, add drained cooked flageolets and herb of choice (I like thyme), heat through. Serve topped with chopped celery leaves or finely chopped celery. Fantastic with lamb in any form.

5 Likes

Might be fun to riff on this recipe: