Your favorite salad dressing recipe, please!

I’m a good cook. I can make all kinds of things, but I seem to have been born without the salad dressing gene. I make simple vinaigrettes, but they are always too vinegary or too bland or too whatever. I’ve read a million recipes, I use quality ingredients, so I don’t know why I have a problem! Yesterday, at a pub in Sonoma, I had a fantastic salad that was just mixed halved cherry tomatoes with olive oil, vinegar, fresh basil and sea salt. It was perfect. Could I duplicate it at home? I doubt it. What’s your favorite oil and vinegar dressing and how do you make it? I will be forever grateful for your advice and recipes.

1 Like

I include the thick juices from the canned kidney/cannelini/garbanzo/etc beans when I make bean salad. Just not the water from the green and wax beans. I add a packet of dry Wish Bone Italian dressing mix seasoning, extra garlic powder, white vinegar, and not much oil. Sorry, no measuring but probably a half cup of vinegar and a quarter cup of oil. Plus a glug of water or some of the wax bean water. The large batch, comprised of at least five cans of beans and a large sliced onion, needs several days in the fridge for the flavors to meld. When the salad is gone, the remaining liquid is my favorite homemade dressing for simple green salads.

1 Like

I don’t do it often, but when I make a vinagrette, I often refer to The Food Lab Turbo: How to Make Vinaigrette (and Dress Your Salad Right)

3 Likes

Nurdling the vinegar transforms vinaigrette beyond recognition, IMO.