Poorly Designed Kitchen Items

Not sure this is a whole topic, but I have to vent: Why is it that there seems to be only one brand (KitchenAid) of “fruit slicer” (a.k.a. apple slicer, a.k.a. apple corer/slicer) that is large enough to slice a large apple? Do all the manufacturers assume no one is slicing anything larger than a Lady apple?

What do you think is poorly designed?

1 Like

Let’s see – 99% of garlic presses, 99% of vegetable peelers, 99% of can openers, 99% of knife sharpeners… Those are my pet peeves.

4 Likes

There are so many poorly designed items. Now as a mature cook, I really look for tools that really help me. And I make a big effort to avoid a bad purchase that I’m going to be unhappy with by doing a lot of research. Just like Tanui says, for every good one out there, there are 99 bad ones!

How does one clean a garlic press?! (Or for that matter, a strainer or anything else with tiny holes.)

I use a toothbrush reserved for that sole function – ironically, about 99% of toothbrushes are well designed.

2 Likes

I got rid of my garlic press years ago but anything with holes/opening that gets immediately dropped into water comes clean perfectly.

I use the cleaning thingy that came with the press. Works very well.

1 Like

Like TanukiSoup, I have a tooth brush for in washing garlic press or teapot etc, very useful.

I’m very happy with my present Zwiling Twin garlic press, robust and the space is big enough to put bigger garlic. For cleaning, I can open up the whole thing to clean and since it’s totally stainless steel, if I forget to wash it instantly, I can soak a bit. My old press got rusty quick, and it’s not strong enough to crush larger garlic.

1 Like

Tea strainer, vinegar with toothbrush.
Bigger strainer, wash well with dish washer.

I have a inner part of centrifuge that I find it very difficult to wash, it’s basically a strainer with micro holes. I just stop making apple juices…

Wow! That’s exactly the garlic press that I use and love!