New Yorker in Portland OR

Total Portland noob here. Meeting a friend for 4 days in September. Looking for anything and everything, from food carts to fine dining. I dont know how to make it less vague

I’m also a little confused on where to stay. Is Downtown off limits, not recommended, or perfectly fine.

Does the friend live there or also visiting? What sorts of cultural stuff are you into? Powell’s is amazing if you want to add to your cookbook collection, or I always enjoy the Portland Art Museum.

There are several food cart pods; individual carts keep their own hours.

I haven’t actually been in a few years, but downtown is going to be on par with any other large city and have people on the streets struggling to get by in various ways. Perfectly fine if you’re used to that, just don’t be dumb or leave things in vehicles.

Various neighborhoods have their own charms. Alberta in the NE and Pearl in the NW are nice.

2 Likes

Thanks for this. The friend is also visiting for the first time. We are into food, offbeat museums, art and really just seeing/experiencing anything thats different. Will probably rent a car one day for some nature or maybe rent for the entire stay. A quick check points me to the east side… Buckman, Kerns, etc as close to many good restaurants, but most of the closest hotels are bunched by the convention center.

1 Like

We once stayed at the Kimpton River Place hotel and loved it. I wanted to move into our apartment-like suite! We also really liked the McMenamins’ Kennedy School hotel but it wasn’t very conveniently located as I recall.

It’s been awhile. Tagging along.