More Than Gourmet Classic French Demi-Glace vs Glace de Viande Gold Reduced Brown Stock,

My husband likes gravy with lean red meat. I have Better Than Bouillon but I’m also trying this product I bought on Amazon.

Here’s Beef brown gravy from broth., which suggests adding garlic and onion powder. I’m guessing these might not already in “broth”, and I’m wondering if they are in demi glace or glace de viande.I have no experience with Demi-Glace or Glace de Viande Gold Reduced Brown Stock in real life .

[The spruce eats glace de viande recipe]
(https://www.thespruceeats.com/glace-de-viande-recipe-996070)
I’m just trying to make passable meatballs with brown gravy. With no actual mushrooms but I think I can get away with mushroom powder, maggi, Worcestershire, etc. So far, just adding water and Wondra isn’t passable.

Any suggestions?

Came out fine.

Not as dark as I wanted.

1 Like

I’ve tried those demi-glace products before when I came upon them in a food store many years ago. They are super tasty, IMO. Used to use them for a sauce for Japanese style hamburg steak. William Sonoma used to have a mushroom-based demi-glace sauce in a jar that was also very good, but that was a good 10 years ago. No idea if that product is still available.

I’ve never bothered with taking the time to make my own demi-glace, since I’m picky with what I want sauce on (usually I don’t want rich sauces). If I’m cooking lean red meat, I usually make a chimichurri sauce. Actually I try to make a chimichurri sauce with just about any red meat – I think it’s a match made in heaven. It brightens the flavor and adds some moisture without being drippy and overly saucey).

I agree with you on the choice of chimichurri with red meat. In my house I always have to point out what is sauce and what is gravy. Husband likes to use a LOT of whatever it is.