Marcella Hazan

I recently read an article about Marcella Hazan and realized that I somehow missed her in my long self-taught cooking career. The only thing I’ve made of hers is the famous tomato/butter/onion sauce. I got her Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking from the library and have started reading it. I like that she is so definite about what you should do and not do, but the number of recipes is a little overwhelming.
I’m thinking of starting with the chicken cacciatore recipes, but I thought I would ask which of her recipes are the ones you like and make often. Thanks.

6 Likes

The Smothered Cabbage, Venetian Style, simply cooked low and slow, is lovely, practically melt-in-your-mouth soft. It needs plenty of salt and pepper, and I use half the amount of olive oil. I like it as a base for braised dishes, or just as a side for anything. I’ve never made the rice soup that incorporates it, but it seems to be well-liked.

6 Likes

@TheLibrarian28 I’ve been thinking of starting some “cooking from” threads for cookbooks and authors — this would make a great one.

I had reached out to @hungryonion to create a tag so we can organize and find them, maybe @moderators can help.

Re recipes, aside from the famous tomato sauce (which I made to recipe once and then adapted, but is my base sauce for everything now), the Bolognese is completely worth the time (takes a while and freezes great, so make extra), and the lasagna that incorporates it.

The cabbage is not my thing, but there’s a cult following.

ETA: don’t be daunted by the bolognese, it’s mostly hands-off time

9 Likes

My 2 favorites are the Roasted Chicken with 2 Lemons (I use one quartered instead) cooked breast side down first 30 minutes and

Bolognese … takes hours because she instructs to cook at a low simmer. I always triple recipe, you can easily freeze extra.

Here’s a photo of her fresh pasta bolognese I made, best to do sauce the day before. Lotta work but worth it.