Lo carb w/o daily meat?

How hard would it be to try a low carb diet if I did not want to have a heavily meat-based diet? I’ve never tried low carb. I love carb. But the time has come to admit that a change is needed. Thing is, for environmental reasons, I like to have at least 1/3 of my weekly meals(?) vegetarian. And since I know beans are very carby, I’m just curious - to those who have tried it - how hard would it be for a new low carber if I wasn’t willing to each chicken and fish and steak every day? And does low carb do anything at all if it is part time? I.e. is doing a couple of low carb days a week better than nothing? Sorry for all the questions - novice here.

2 Likes

How about pork belly? Just kidding.

I don’t know the answer. I’ve eaten an awful lot of animal protein in the process, and I dont live carbs.

And if I go exclusively by weight, which probably makes no sense at all, I would say “part time” low carb would have less impact.

maybe it depends upon why you want to go low(er) carb? TBH, dried beans can be high in protein, and much of the carb is fiber…
how do you feel about eggs or dairy?

1 Like

It was easier to eat less meat and leaner cuts when I do. Up the veg, hydrate more and portion control on any carb. Then stretch your body out every day.

Use smaller plates.

3 Likes

Yes, by weight. As in - goal of weight loss. I was hoping you’d “weigh” in shrinkrap. Would you say that 2 low carb days a week (or 3) is kind of useless because I’m not training my body to not want carbs or sugar? Just trying to understand, because usually a little of of a good thing brings a little of the good result, without being altogether useless…

1 Like

Years ago now, but my wife and I lost a lot of weight and have learned good maintenance approaches since. So, no judgements. We know its a lifestyle chg that works.

4 Likes