Knife skills for newbies

Hi Everyone,

I’m brand new to Hungry Onion and relatively new to cooking. With the vast amount of cooking information available online, I was wondering if anyone had recommendations about where I could go to learn basic knife skills. When I say basic, I mean chopping, mincing, dicing, etc. I’d like to be able to know the difference between basic cuts when called for in a recipe as well as the ability to perform them relatively quickly. Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Oh, start with Jacques Pepin! There are a few free videos out there if you search https://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=jacques+pepin+video+knife+skills&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

Once upon a time, the FoodNetwork had shows that demonstrated knife cuts, but they have gone away. Perhaps they are still available? Tyler Florence had a show called “how to boil water” or something like that. There are also classes that you can take in many areas of the country. Of course, they cost money, but might be worth your cash and time.

2 Likes

Where do you live? Even some smaller cities have classes that include knife skills.

Welcome!

I second Pepin, and also recommend poking around on Martha Stewart’s website. I have pages from her defunct Everyday Food magazine that illustrate cuts. She may have videos on this. The PBS channel, Create, has shows by Pepin, Stewart, and the group at Cook’s Illustrated (America’s Test Kitchen)/Cooks Country.

2 Likes

Well, I recommend a couple of video from Norman Weinstein (he teaches knife skill at CIA). He also has a book which you may want to buy later:

I would start with the High and Low Techniques

An Edge in the Kitchen is a great book. It includes knife history, knife selection, knife care, knife cut…etc. So it isn’t just about knife skill.

1 Like

YouTube has lots of videos. For a more community based way forward, local colleges which have catering departments often run short courses for non-professionals.