Is it possible to make cake batter the day before?

I’m just wandering if it’s possible to make cake batter the night before and bake the following day? I’ve never done this before and would like to know if there is any precaution. I’ll be using instant yeast. The bananas are defrost but no time to bake tonight. Thanks in advance.

I have (and my mother much more often) made even baking-powder-leavened pancake and/or waffle batter the night before, but I’ve never tried it with cake batter. If it were chemically leavened, I might hesitate to do it, since “rising” is usually bigger issue for “cakes” (or quick breads) than for basically flat things like pancakes and waffles. But since it’s yeast-raised, I wouldn’t think it should be a problem. In theory it might be a good idea to use a little less yeast than if you were baking it soon after making the batter (since the yeast will have longer to reproduce), but at refrigerator temperature, I doubt it would make a big difference

1 Like

I’ve tried with yeast bread batter, indeed without problem. Same with pancake batter, can be kept for a few days.

Ok, it’s really late now, so i’ll rather toss the fruits in the fridge, but I would still like to know if it works. As this can be useful to save time for future dinner parties or well, breakfast.

1 Like

I frequently bake up the layers, cool and wrap in Saran for up to several days. Frost or compose dessert on party day. Never any difference in quality.

We have a friend who comes for coffee several times a month…at 6:45 in the morning. I measure out wet and dry ingredients the night before, then whoop then together in seconds in the am and bake muffins and coffeecake.

1 Like

That sounds good. It’s the preparation that is long actually.

1 Like

What pilgrim said.

And you bake fresh muffins and coffee cake for this friend at that time? You are a good friend!

5 Likes

I’m reading this with interest because I have never baked a cake with yeast.