Gochujang - any must try suggestions

Alright, so I’m new to Korean ingredients and cooking (have eaten out but never cooked myself).

I recently “discovered” gochujang. Wow do I love it. I know it is fairly ubiquitous in Korean cooking but I’m searching for ways to use it. Of course I can do a google search but am curious if anyone here has any “go-to” uses - from simple to more complicated.

Thanks!

Edit - for anyone who isn’t familiar with it (and obviously I’m no expert) - it is a fermented red pepper paste. Here was a blog post that I found an interesting read about it and it had a taste test of different brands which I found a helpful place to start. Maybe people with more experience have different opinions but you have to start somewhere.

I add it to a lot of things, but most often just mix a spoonful with mayo as a simple dip for french fries. I’ve also found it’s a good addition to pizza sauce.

3 Likes

I’ll have to try it with mayo as a dipping sauce. I knew people add it to ketchup, didn’t think about mayo (not sure why since I add Sriracha to mayo . . . .). Thanks for the suggestions.

it’s great on almost any kind of eggs, imo–learned this via the fried egg on bibimbap. it’s also good on scrambled, regular omelettes, tamagoyaki, etc

2 Likes

I like it in boxed mac and cheese (w/ frozen peas added a few minutes before draining the pasta).

The combination of spiciness, umami, and sugar ( more likely corn syrup) make it great on plain rice or anything where ketchup might be used. I agree that, for texture, you need to add mayo or something if you wanted as a dip and I’m really curious to try it in tomato sauce! The highest on my to-try list is a grilled corn recipe.

1 Like

So it is fairly thick and paste like. Do you mix it into the eggs? Or add a little to the skillet at the end for the fried egg? It is too thick to “drizzle with a spoon” so just curious.