Do you use hot or mild sausage in lasagna?

I bought a pound of hot Italian sausage that was on sale, and I’m thinking of using it in lasagna. I’ve never used the hot version in lasagna before, so I’m hesitant to switch up my recipe after all these years.

For those of you who use sausage in lasagna, do you use the mild or hot version? Does it make much difference? Am I too set in my ways, and overthinking this?

I’ll be interested to see the replies you get. It’s never occured to me to put sausage in lasagne and I can’t recall ever seeing a recipe including it (although that may be because I’ve missed it)

Well, yeah – I was thinking the same thing – I use ground beef . . . sometimes ground pork, but not sausage per se.

On the other hand, when using sausage in the making of a tomato sauce for a simple pasta dish, I tend to make little “meatballs” of Italian sausage. I will use both hot and mild, but keep them separate – that say, each bite of sausage in the sauce is a little surprise.

Interesting… I’ve always used ground mild Italian sausage in my lasagna. Maybe it’s a regional thing. I grew up in the Boston area.

I use Bolognese with my fave being 2/3 beef and 1/3 pork (ground).

1 Like

You’re overthinking it. Use whatever sounds good!

1 Like

Definitely overthinking. Use it - it will be delicious!

3 Likes

Ok, I’ll use the hot sausage for the lasagna. I’m making it on Thursday. I’ll let you know how it turns out. Hopefully there will be leftovers to get us through the snowstorm on Friday!

if you’re not entirely sure, try leaving it out of half. If you’re using other meat(s), that is.

I use half hot and half mild Italian sausage in mine.

Been using sausage in my lasagne for years.

I use half sweet and half hot. Not only do I like both but it adds some adventure to the meal. You never know which is going to hit the tongue, sometimes it is sweet and sometime hot (unless your hot is much redder than the sweet).