Baumalu Authenticity

A few questions for the copper-obsessed here, please.

I bought a few Baumalu pieces about 10 years ago at TJ Maxx. Now, reading through some of the old posts here, I have started questioning if it is real Baumalu and if it contains lead.

Rivits: how many rivets on the handle do real Baumalu have: Some of my pieces have 2 rivits; others 3. I can discern no other difference at the join.

Stamp or Marque: on real Baumalu, is the marque on the left or the right of the handle, looking at it from the side with the top up?

Did Baumalu ever sell off unmarqued pieces which did not meet quality standards? If so, how would one know?

Lead: I am assuming that the lead, if present, would be at the rivit site. But should I also be checking on the inside tin lining as well? I am checking the rivit site on the inside of the piece: should I be checking somewhere else as well?

Thanking you in advance.
Signed,
Prepared to be Sadder but Wiser

I’m no expert on Baumalu, but I doubt anyone would go to the trouble of knocking them off. Not that they’re bad pans, but it’d be a little like counterfeiting $5 bills.

If you’re worried, buy a lead test kit. Food grade tin is not that expensive, so you’re probably good.

1 Like

Thanks, Kaleo.

Where should I be checking?

YW. Anywhere on the sidewall. The lining was done in one fell swoop.

I agree with Kaleo completely.

I’ve never heard of counterfeit Baumalu or any other copper cookware, except one instance in which counterfeit antique marks were contemporarily being placed on antique unmarked pans to increase their collectibility.

To repeat what Kaleo said, it wouldn’t make economical sense to make fake Baumalu cookware.

I think the chance of significant lead contamination is very very low. It would make no sense since it wouldn’t be economically advantageous for the manufacturer since food grade tin is relatively abundant/inexpensive.