A drive down memory lane, our favorite car related food memories..................

Besides being a food enthusiast I am also a “car guy”, and in another thread we started talking about some of the cars of our youth, so to keep things more “on topic” I started this thread. Let’s share some of our favorite car & food related memories of our past.

Below you will find my first car a 1986 red Trans-Am. My biggest food related memories associated with this car was actually work related. At the time I was a cook at the Ponderossa in the Ocean County Mall in Toms River NJ and a host/asst. mgr at 2000 Park Ave. Restaurant in South Plainfield, NJ.

Having a Trans Am made the commute between the two, which are about 45 miles a part just a tad bit quicker.

My other food related memory with this car was going on dates. I would take out my girlfriend at the time and my big “date place” was the East Brunswick Chateau. Even though I was 17, I looked much older and worked in the industry so I knew how to carry myself. I would take my girlfriend to dinner and order a bottle of wine, Berringer White Zinfindel (my mom drank it) and I felt ohhhh soooo sophisticated. lol Never got carded.

So let’s see some of the rides of your youth and hear some of your favorite food related memories that goes along with the ride.

We need a pic of this Trans am!

4 Likes

@seal Sounds about right.

@corvette_johnny - Not sure there are many that exist, if I find one I shall share it. Fire engine red - screaming eagle on hood, tinted windows and Trans Am on the bottom of the doors. (I occasionally look online to see if I can find a twin, I would love to own it again) It was a hell of a looker. After the TA was my Vette 86’s canary yellow lol such a “guido” .

4 Likes

…but was Sally Fields in the passenger seat?

3 Likes