Why is my brown rice such a disaster?

I just bought a new bag of Sukoyaka Genmai brown rice from our local Asian market. I’ve bought the same 15# bag before and not had a problem. I’ve cooked two batches and had the same disasterous results: the bottom half of the pot is a pile of mush and the top half is still crunchy. The only thing different is that this bag has a sticker that says “new crop” on it. I followed the directions: 2 cups rice, add 2.75c water, let soak (once I followed the recommended 30 mins, once I tried a several hours soak), bring to a boil and simmer on low for 25 mins. It always takes longer- for brown rice I plan for 40 mins. But even at 45 mins I had grains on top that were barely cooked. Same pot, same process. What gives? What do I adjust? How do you get your brown rice to turn out well?

That is bad. Any reason to think the problem is the rice cooker?

I’m using a 2.5 quart calphalon clad saucepan. I’ve been cooking rice in it for almost 10 years (10th wedding anniversary coming up!) with occasional not-great batches or needing to adjust water amounts with a new type of rice, but nothing like this.

Oh, it is not a rice cooker, so we cannot even blame an appliance. Yeah, the way you describe it sounds unusual.

Dry on the top and mushy on the bottom would suggest that water evaporated too quickly in the beginning, so the rice on top didn’t get enough water, and yet, later the water evaporate way too slow at the end, causing the rice on the bottom became mushy. However, this is just a guess.

I prefer the pasta method for making brown rice: bring a copious amount of water (salt or not, your choice) to a boil, add rice, stir, cook at a gentle boil for 30 minutes. Dump through a strainer, then empty the strainer right back into the hot pot, (optionally, add oil or butter, and stir) cover, and let it sit, off heat, for 10 minutes. Then fluff it up. This method assures evenly-cooked, separate grains.