Where in the world do you cook from?

Besides cooking from your own background/family place of origin, where do you head to around the globe in your cooking, most often? And why?

My background is Russian Jewish, although I can’t say that I cook a ton of that style of food. I certainly ate a lot of it growing up - mostly made by my immigrant grandparents, who babysat us, and made meals, while my parents worked.

I tend to go to Asia when I cook, whether that be Chinese, Thai, or lately also Korean and Vietnamese. Not the entire range of those cuisines, but certain go-to dishes. Why? I don’t entirely know. Partly because all my fam eats it more or less w/o complaint. Partly because I’ve found that I can simplify things and they still turn out ok (think protein/veg stir fries, thai curries with pre-bought paste, cold noodle salads if I bring the herbs and the fish sauce), and other cuisines I’ve tried don’t seem to react well to simplifications or shortcuts.

5 Likes

Great topic!

Indian from family background, but different kinds (indian cuisine is regionally extremely diverse). But mom is an adventurous cook (and voracious reader of foreign publications) so we ate “exotic” - to us - stuff more than most.

At home I veer mostly to Asian seasonings.

Chinese is considered “local” by Indians (the most common type of restaurants serve “punjabi, chinese, south Indian” lol, and there are street vendors serving noodles and fried rice).

So my pantry and fridge are full of Asian ingredients - sauces, spices, and condiments, and while I may not always look up a recipe, I’ll often cook to a flavor profile of a favorite dish.

If I’m cooking for others, I go indian / mediterranean / middle eastern / north african - familiar and somewhat common (roots anyway) flavor profiles.

1 Like

That’s fascinating that Chinese is considered local by Indians.