When the restaurant you have been frequenting turns bad

I have been frequenting a Freehold red sauce place for over 20 years.
For the past 2-3 years mostly Sunday around 5 pm
Last night the waiter was lost the food was meh , well maybe worse than meh & even brought out a chicken scallopine dish instead of a veal
The wait for food was excruciating so gf ate the spinach & not much more
We have been coming to this restaurant for over 20 & inspite of not seeing the owner recently because he’s not around on Sunday we have a nice relationship with him & even have stayed in his family’s hotel in Positano
We have noticed that the food has not been up to measure the past few months
Would you tell the owner, take a break & find a new place ?
If I tell the owner I fear that he will take it personally & I don’t want to hurt his feelings.
Recommendations for a moderate priced red sauce place near Freehold are welcome

Maybe an anonymous yet constructive email where you make it clear you’re a long time customer through example without giving yourself away?

1 Like

From what you say, the food has deteriorated in recent times and your last visit seems like the “final straw”. If it was me, I would simply take a walk and find somewhere new. I don’t have the sort of relationship with an owner that meant I’d feel obliged to tell them I was not coming back. I’d just be gone and, truth be told, a long time before you’re thinking of it.

2 Likes

I would call the owner or drop by to let him know what happened, if you were a regular. I have found most owners are appreciative of constructive feedback. Remember to also include a few positives along with the negatives that upset you.

I’ve had 2 owners respond poorly when I’ve given feedback, after a disappointment. A couple other owners and a manager never responded to an email. I think in person or on the phone works best.

He will wonder why you stopped coming, and maybe it will help him and his business if he knows what is going wrong.