What to Do with Rolled Anchovies?

I bought a couple of cans of rolled anchovies with capers at the A&P/Pathmark going-out-of-business sale because I like anchovies, I like capers, and they were really cheap.

But now my question is: what do I do with them? Put them on pizza? Eat them straight? (With a gallon of water?) Cook with them? (Won’t they unroll?)

The rolled kind is a tad less salty and often eaten as part of tapas or in a salad.

I only use flat anchovies and never soak them. The sauce I make with them is good for all kinds of raw or steamed vegs and greens. Simply crush them with some garlic (both finely), then add good olive oil. I often add fresh lime juice to it as well. Really nice to scoop it up with steamed artichoke “petals”.

2 Likes

When I couldn’t afford to buy smoked salmon as a college student, I would buy rolled anchovies with capers and arrange them on split toasted bagels with cream cheese, and a little chopped raw onion.

Good way to use up the bagels when the lox is gone!

We use them on canapés–a cracker, a piece of cheese, a rolled anchovie.

I throw a couple in the sauté pan with some fresh chopped garlic, evoo , let them warm up; then with some red sauce, poured over some pasta.
I do not like them on pizza, but on top of a green salad or mashed up with some garlic, red wine vinegar, mustard and good olive oil, as a salad dressing.

When I do tomato sauces, I always throw a few of that to shimmer. They will disappear when the cooking is done, but they add an extra flavour. The same as cooking ratatouille, a few drop of lemon juice and anchovies.

I take a long italian roll, slice it prepare it like you would garlic bread, toast it, top with mozzarella, and parm, unrolled anchovies and broil till cheese melts. Or I just saute them in evo, with garlic, til garlic softens and add cooked pasta with a bit of the cooking water, stir a bit, and serve.

1 Like