Victorian cucumber sandwiches

Years ago, on the old Chowhound, I posed a question like this: I am a teacher and in a few days will teach Oscar Wilde’s play “The Importance of Being Earnest,” which has a scene revolving importantly around cucumber sandwiches. (One character’s insatiable eating of them is a plot point in the play.) Last time teaching, I made some for the students. But I frankly found them just so-so. I wonder how much better might they be?

I want the sandwiches to be perfect simplicity, so no cream cheese or goat cheese or julienned sweet peppers, etc. For purposes of our coursework, it’s important that they not be “filling.”

From my research in history: I will use only butter for fat–I think I’ll get a cultured European butter–and I’ll use thin-sliced Pepperidge Farm sandwich bread (slices about 3/8"/.5 centimeter thick). I’ve heard it’s worth taking thinly sliced English cucumber (get my mandoline) and salting them between layers of paper towel. Because the course is 9:30 a.m., I’d kind of like to do this stage the night before, but I worry that might make the cukes soggy in fridge overnight. I wonder how thick the thinly slices of cucumber should be layered? Something makes me think a bit of white pepper might be worthy here, too.

Is that the real deal? Ideas or cautions.

3 Likes

No advice for you. Just think this is a very creative way to leave a lasting impression with your students.

4 Likes

I would butter both slices of Pepperidge Farm bread( good choice) and sandwich together. Cover with Saran Wrap and a slightly damp towel. Refrigerate of course. Slice the cucumbers thinly and salt lightly letting drain overnight. Pat dry and mix with white pepper. Layer between buttered bread. Trim crusts and quarter. They’ll either like them or they won’t.:blush:

3 Likes