The cost of a well equipped kitchen

I have been collecting the things in my kitchen since the 1960s. It is very rare for me to decide “I’d like to get a …”. My kitchen has been adequate since the 1970s, yet every now and then I add something. Since I gathered this stuff over so many years, I have very rarely felt the pain of a purchase. I doubt that when I die my children will say, “Wow. We hit the mother lode.” They may like some of my stuff and give the rest away. This got me to thinking about the total investment. We tend to think in terms of pots, pans, and knives, but there are terrines, brioche molds, madeleine plaques, and mixing bowls. I have, pleasantly, too but perhaps foolishly, squandered a lot. I have zero interest in totaling it. Do you? Do you wonder, “What would it take to have an ideally stocked kitchen?” I am guessing that many, perhaps most, would come up with a number lower than what we actually spent. Our couer a la creme molds, birds’ nest baskets, and grilling pans might have been bad ideas. I have learned enough over the years to avoid buying things I might never use, but ages ago I bought a few. Oddly, I gave away a few I would like back. No real topic here other than a thought to which you might respond with yours.

4 Likes

Other than a few cast iron skillets and a dutch oven, all of my cookware, bakeware, serving dishes and plates came from Goodwill.
And they are getting it ALL back when I die.
Reduce – Reuse – Recycle.

5 Likes

I’m much like you–my total outlay for cookware is what I consider to be relatively low. However, if I were to list everything I have, and have to replace it buy buying it again, it would be dear.

The big expenses for outfitting a stellar kitchen are the space, the appliances, lighting, HVAC, “furniture”, surfaces, storage, the list goes on and on.

I know a guy… His sister was married to Wolfgang Puck. Her kitchen remodel ran to just over $2 million.

4 Likes

OMG!!! Yikes!

2 Likes