St. Patrick's Day--Best Method for Corned Beef?

I have a beautiful piece of Wagyu brisket ready for SPD. But how to cook it? I’ve never been satisfied with boiling–the results have usually been tough and stringy.

Yesterday at a party, my SIL extolled the virtues of pressure cooking the cut. For me, that raised the question of exactly what the PC contributes besides reduced time-at-temperature.

So how do you do it? Bake? Braise? Sous vide? Poach? Grill or sear, then finish? BBQ with a Texas Crutch? Tips and hacks?

Thanks!

1 Like

Put it in a smoker?

1 Like

I think your previous attempts have been undercooked if tough. I have no experience with Wagu, nor supermarket bagged corned beef. Who prepared your Wagu brisket?

For me, fork tender is the indicator….~3 hrs on simmer for ~ 3 lbs.

Were your previous attempts fork tender?

What is the size of your corned beef, and why did you choose Wagu?

Corned Beef on the BBQ, are you trying for Pastrimi?

I get you want corned beef rather than pastrami, but this guy has a great track record with beef for me. Maybe just cut down on the spices.

Thanks

Well of course I love pastrami, but my thinking on smoking it was more about slowly melting that wonderful marbling.

I know I should stay out of this technical CB conversation but what the heck. My husband prefers cooking CB in the slow cooker. I prefer the oven. Easier cleanup. No matter how you cook it, CB has a mind of its own. It’s done when it’s done and not a minute before.

5 Likes