Something bad happened to my coffee!!

And I have no idea what. I love my coffee. It was well rounded and smooth and my favorite part of the day. Suddenly, its tastes watery and strong at the same time, definitely not well rounded. So I cleaned the coffee pot and the grinder. It’s still awful. I use a Wilfa coffee maker, oxo burr grinder. Could it be a bad bag of coffee? Any thoughts of what I can do?

1 Like

Def can be the coffee itself. Do you buy whole bean or grounds? How do you store your coffee?

1 Like

I have been using the same coffee for a couple of years. Once in a while I had issues but it was usually ok after I cleaned the pot. I use whole bean and some are stored in the grinder which I keep in a dark cabinet and some in the bag in a dark cabinet. Extra bags are kept in a dark, cool room in the basement. Nothing has changed.

Is it possible it was frozen at any point? Or exposed to extreme heat. Either could definelty affect taste.

Maybe before it was delivered to me. Tomorrow I’m going to try another bag of coffee

I know this may sound odd but…
Leaving beans in the grinder means other smells, house temp can chg the age. Even in short order. Here in NJ the weather has been all over the place and my kitchen temp too. I now store beans in the bag vacuum sealing it ea time ( since we own one). I don’t leave Beans in the grinder anymore and I check bag dates on whole bean. .
Coffee beans are sensitive it’s the nature of the natural oils and roasting process and I don’t use ground coffee ever.

1 Like

Did it start tasting bad when you opened a new bag?

It’s unlikely that the same bag suddenly changed flavor from one day to the next.

But I’d agree with rooster that on ground beans were left out in the grinder.

I’d try a new batch from the same bag but ground fresh, and open a new bag if that doesn’t work.