Social Distancing - how has your cooking changed?

Most of us aren’t accustomed to cooking strictly from our fridge, freezer, and pantry, but desperate times call for changes. I’ve seen estimates from the WHO and CDC that COVID-19 may peak in around 45 days, and others are predicting a year of social distancing. :open_mouth: When you can’t get out (much?), get creative.

Has your approach to making meals changed? How are you managing your inventory with an eye to variety, stretching out what you have, and working with what you’ve got? What other considerations are at play?

With (potentially) extra time on your hands, are you embarking on any new cooking projects?

Very timely thread. I was about to start one on this topic as I could only get frozen onions. I’ve never used them before. I’m assuming browning them is out given the moisture issues. I will be using a lot more tinned beans than usual that’s for sure. Luckily I have a lot of spices so it should be tasty whatever is made.

While being stuck at home I am carefully observing the recommended six foot minimum distance from home improvement projects, spring cleaning and healthy eating.

14 Likes

So far, we are not really planning any changes to how we cook, as such.