Sauerkraut - a couple of questions

I have a jar of sauerkraut, which I’ve bought for a recipe (never having used sauerkraut before). The jar’s contents are 650g of which I need 200g for the recipe, which basically cooks it along with potatoes, mushrooms and kielbasa sausage. So, my questions are:

1. how long wil it keep once I’ve opened it (presumably, in the fridge)

2. any favourite recipes , please, that will use it up?

Now, all i have to do is chase round South Manchester and North Cheshire trying to find kielbasa (soemthing which my neither of our normal supermarkets seem to stock).

I’m no food scientist . . . . but my experience is that sauerkraut is essentially a pickled vegetable. So I think it lasts in the fridge - covered by brine juice - for 6 months or so. Over time it looses some of its sharpness in my opinion. Like other pickles, if it is covered in brine, I’m not sure if it really ever “goes bad” but if bits stick up out of the brine those bits can go bad and then make everything bad.

I don’t really have a recipe to suggest - but it goes well with any fatty meats/sausages. (There are some soup recipes I remember that use it but they aren’t my cup of tea, so i don’t have any recipes on hand). I do like kraut on sandwiches with fatty meats - a la Reuben sandwich. Just think German/Polish food and you’re good to go.

2 Likes

http://www.sauerkrautrecipes.com/recipe/franks-kraut-cookies/

I’d make sauerkraut and mushroom pierogi. They freeze very well.

Sautee onions till starting to brown, add drained kraut and some form of apple (chopped, sauce, dried and/or cider. Caraway and celery seed would be nice additions, too. Braise until mellow and use as a side with pork or poultry, or to top hot dogs or sausages in buns.

2 Likes

Sauerkraut goes well with fatty meat. Duck and sausages come to mind. I have also made Sauerkraut-filled dumplings.

I eat German and Austrian food in autumn and winter and Sauerkraut is eaten very often.