Pasta extruder - Arcobaleno AEX5 vs. Bottene Lillo Due?

I have been making pasta at home for several years both by rolling and by extrusion. My extruder is a hand-cranked Bottene Torchio Model B - a design that Bottene first launched in 1875 and still makes today.

I would like to add an electric home machine that mixes dough and extrudes it through bronze dies such as an Arcoblaleno AEX5, Lillo Due or even a Dolly III.

In her excellent book ‘Pasta’, Missy Robbins recommends both the Arcobaleno and Lillo Due for home use.

The Lillo Due mixer capacity is 1 kg and uses many of the same dies as the Torchio Model B, and so I already have a good selection of bronze dies for it.

Any experiences, opinions or suggestions?

2 Likes

The Arcobaleno AEX 5 has a hopper capacity of 500g of four, the Bottene Lillo Due 1,000g, and the Dolly III 2.5kg. The Dolly III is probably more suited to restaurant use, leaving the AEX 5 and Lillo Due as contenders for home use.

The Lillo Due can mix up to 1kg of flour or as little as 500g. Here it is in action in a home kitchen:

Much as I enjoy making extruded pasta with my Bottene Torchio (which they have been making since 1875), it requires considerable manual force to extrude pasta through the bronze die - but the results are worth it.

3 Likes

Fresh extruded Bucatini made with the Bottene Torchio.

2 Likes

Pasta alla Norma made last weekend with bucatini using the Bottene Torchio.

2 Likes

The Bottene Lillo Due arrived today!

2 Likes

I didn’t know the chair is part of the unit. :smile:

The Bottene Lillo Due has a hopper capacity of 1kg of flour, and can make batches with as little as 500g of flour. The powerful 0.5 HP motor turns an auger which extrudes the pasta dough through a bronze die.

2 Likes

The hopper is where the mixing of flour and water (or eggs) takes place. The bronze auger can be seen at the bottom of the mixing chamber.

2 Likes

Semolina and water in the mixing chamber ready for extrusion.

2 Likes