Online food shopping experiences - good, bad or ...?

Do you have nice and positive experiences with online food shopping? Or bad ones? Or neutral? Would like to hear yours.

I’ve been doing food shopping online for around 15 years. The place where I live is suburban, and no much good shops around in the walking distance. In the early years, when the big hypermarket we go now wasn’t built yet, and when I was busy with work, I ordered directly from online supermarkets, many times the vegetables came in sad states, I stopped. There was also a time I found a great online meat shop that delivered, they bought directly from farms, price and quality was good. Until one day the 200€ purchase was ruined by a late delivery, the meat was left in a non fridge van over a weekend. The owner of the shop from Paris came to my place to pick up the goods for refund. He looked painful at the total loss. I ordered a few more times from him but traveled to Paris to pickup the goods myself. After those few experience, I still do food shopping, but more limited to grocery goods than with fresh goods.

Yesterday, I ordered some vanilla pods online, from a new shop. Before they shipped out the parcel, they informed me with SMS, including the following photos.

For once, I have to say I’m impressed with this shopping experience. I haven’t received my vanilla yet, but will report back if the pods they sent are those on the photos.

8 Likes

Another good experience I had with an online spice shop, they offered a free sample of the spice of your choice with the purchase. I asked for an expensive 20 years old Phu Quoc black pepper and they didn’t refuse. Also happy that they vacuum sealed all the purchased spices or grains individually in some resealable ziplock bags.

1 Like

:pleading_face: