Making yogurt at home

My MIL took a little Straus yogurt and put them into little glass jars with Straus milk. The resulting yogurt is smooth, creamy, a little sweet and arguably better than the store bought yogurt.

What’s your experience with home made yogurt, and how do you like it?

Homemade yogurt is easy and tastes better.

Need to get my yogurt maker out again now that I’m getting a handle on my lactose issues

Definitely better than store bought! I have used various brands of Greek yogurt as a starter and I find that if you like the way the starter tastes, you’ll probably like the yogurt you make from it even better! I prefer to make my own because I can control the fat content that way (I like to add cream to whole milk for a richer result).

1 Like

Here is a REALLY thorough discussion, full of tips and ideas: http://www.chowhound.com/post/success-homemade-fage-yogurt-easy-cheap-567084

I’ve been making my own Greek yogurt every 10 days or so for several years, starting with 2 gallons of milk. Heat it to 180 degrees, cool it to 110 degrees, add a cup of Fage as the starter. Keep warm in 100 degree oven for 8 to 12 hours. Drain in fridge through cheesecloth for 24 hours. Flavor with chocolate or vanilla or blueberry or mango and put into 10 or 12 individual 8 or 10 ounce containers with lids. Higher in protein, lower in sugar, lovely mouthfeel.

1 Like

Nah, sell the yogurt maker at a yard sale. Put the culture and the milk in a sterilized and closed mason jar. Put water at 120F or so in a beer cooler and submerge the jars. Go to sleep and wake up to yogurt in the morning.

I already own it. I’m not going to throw it away then go BUY a mason jar and BUY a beer cooler.

1 Like

What’s the rationale for the initial heating then cooling to 110? To activate some sort of enzyme in the milk?