I hate my new Cuisinart handmixer

Anyone else have strong feelings against the Cuisinart Power Plus 5 speed hand mixer? I replaced my Kitchen Aid which I loved, because it was an offer I couldn’t refuse. Bad move. It is so powerful that on lowest speed everything flies out of the bowl making anything but end stage mixing nearly impossible. I’m an experienced baker with lots of years of mixing under my belt and I cannot imagine this mixer being functional for anyone. Must replace because it’s killing my happy baking mojo!

I’d love to hear your thoughts.
thanks!

1 Like

I can’t speak to the Cuisinart model you reference, but when I replaced my own mixer about 9 months ago, I went with this Breville model. I use it almost exclusively for baking, and have been very, very pleased with it.

1 Like

That one has many top reviews and recommendations on sites I’ve checked. Thanks so much for your help.

There are an awful lot of reviews upset about the rubber coated beaters peeling into your food. They are on the site @MunchkinRedux linked to.

I’ve had pretty good luck with Wirecutter recommendations, although note they also recommend the Cuisinart model to which OP refers.

I haven’t had any issues with the Breville rubber coated peelers, but use them far less frequently than I do the whip beaters.

1 Like

We have an older but similar Cuisinart hand mixer. My wife uses it and then says she wished she had used the KA. I find that anything the hand mixer can do can be done with a wooden spoon and/or a whisk with less fuss, a spoon for heavy batters and a balloon whisk for egg whites in soft, shiny peaks. The flat whisk for most things in between.

It places prominently on lots of sites and I’m absolutely bamboozled by that. Great reviews on Amazon but when I checked the 1 star reviews almost all were because of the same issue…too powerful for early stage mixing, with projectile bits of butter etc flying out and about.
Just replaced with the same KA I bought in 2017.