How Do I Cook A Hamburger

Please don’t laugh. Don’t point fingers. Don’t mock. Jeer. This is a serious question.

I’m actually a fairly good cook. I can make complicated recipes such as my grandma’s stuffed cabbages. I can whip up a loaf of bread, muffins, cakes. I can bake chicken to perfection. Make a pilaf.

But for the life of me, I cannot cook a hamburger properly and dammit, I’m gonna ask for help.

The last straw was tonight. My burger came out burned on the outside, raw on the inside.

I have two decent cast iron skillets. My oven is OK.

Help, and thank you.

3 Likes

There are generally 2 schools of burger patties. Thin and cooked through, and thick and pink. It would help a lot if you explained exactly what you did in your attempt so that we have a baseline.

I’m assuming you went with a thick pink style since you say you burned your burger and got a rare center.

I’m also going to assume you added things to your burger other than meat and salt/pepper. It should be practically impossible to burn a burger patty on a skillet in the time it takes to cook.

A burger is a very simple thing. Start with some fatty ground beef - at least 80/20, form into patties of desired thickness and do not overhandle it. Just put in the least amount of time and pressure into it to form a patty until it just comes together. Salt + pepper goes only on the outside, right before it’s time to cook. Add more salt than you think you’ll need. If your patties are fat, give it a little dimple in the middle, and make sure the sides are vertical and don’t taper off. You want a hockey puck, not a UFO.