Homemade cornmeal buttermilk pancake mix?

Anyone have a recipe? I used to buy it at Dean and DeLuca, but alas, they are no more, at least in Napa. I wanted to be able to use buttermilk powder, and only have to add a minimum of wet ingredients when preparing.

Maybe something like this.

Here’s one, but the directions seem incomplete.

This one seems to be similar, but with no cornmeal, no shortening, and more directions.

Is there a conflict to resolve where if your mix has shortening included it will also not keep as well? I don’t know, so I’m asking.

I was wondering about that. The “butter flavored shortening” I am aware of is shelf stable crisco, so who knows? I have very little experience with it. I was wondering about the powdered buttermilk as well, sinceI keep that in the refrigerator. Both recipes say they keep six weeks, but I suspect I would use it up during the winter holidays.

1 Like

I also was thinking about your many gifts to others. When it’s for your own home and you’re pretty sure it will get used soon-ish, this suddenly becomes less of an issue.

1 Like

Yes; husband goes on and on and on and on about pancakes when he has a day off, and at zero dark thirty! ( which for me is 10 AM).

Buttered flavored Crisco is not butter flavored anymore. Take it from me.

3 Likes

True! Also, Crisco is not Crisco anymore @Miss_belle!

2 Likes

Thanks you guys. Pouring a little veg oil in with the eggs and whatever liquid won’t kill me…once. is there another kind of "better flavored shortening "? Maybe from King Arthur.

When making pancake mix ahead @shrinkrap, I store it in the freezer with great results. I’ll check sources for a recipe for you, using cornmeal - I’m sure they’re out there somewhere…

ETA: I would feel confident using the BHG recipe, but I’d probably use 1/2 butter flavored Crisco, and 1/2 butter, then store in the freezer; I’m thinking the results would be good.

2 Likes

I haven’t had Crisco in forever. They changed the formula I guess?