Holiday cooking mishaps

Okay, I’m going to go first. Christmas Eve dinner is beef stroganoff for the omnivores, Ming Tsai’s tofu stroganoff for the vegan, both served over rice. Oreo crust vegan cheesecake for dessert which is being made now (not by me). For before, I was planning to have Chex mix. At this point I’ve blown two batches of it and have turned over the hors d’oeuvres to the others. Was it the healthier non-Chex cereal from Whole Foods? The Earth Balance fake butter? The soy sauce instead of Worcestershire? The alignment of the planets??? I’m a good cook, and I’m floored to have been defeated by something I’ve made a million times. Thank goodness there’s plenty of wine. Happy holidays!

7 Likes

The Xmas of 1972 was our first together. And our cooking skills were minimal (mine haven’t improved that much over the years). It was going to be a traditional meal on Xmas Day, right down to the white sauce that was traditional to serve with the pudding. So, we bought a packet mix. It looked lovely poured over the pudding. But it didnt taste right. In fact it was pretty much inedible. We went to find the packet in the bin. Yep, that’d be a savoury white onion sauce to go with lamb.

Happy Christmas/Hannukah/Saturnalia/Solstice/Yule to all (delete as appropriate)

9 Likes

I recall my first go at chocolate chip cookies resulted in my brother breaking a tooth on a nut because I used filberts that were in the bar cabinet and I didn’t consider the importance of chopping them well. I was in my 20’s. :grin: Oh yeah, bro still tells that ditty.

5 Likes

Just arrived from Manchester the 24th December. I was too wiped to go to my aunts house but I sent a box of Thornton’s toffee. My uncle tried to chew on it and has never quite forgiven me for the root canal & two implants

6 Likes

I think I’m gonna have to go with “Healthier Substitutes for the Real Thing for $1000, Alex.”:grimacing:/:wink:

Some things you aren’t meant to be “healthy”…:upside_down_face:

6 Likes