Hello from new member from Brooklyn

Just wanted to say hello-My name is Rob, I live in Prospect Heights and I am a food enthusiast. I travel a lot (I’m a musician) so great to see so many new tips, reviews, etc. Anyway hoping to meet some of you in person one of these days on a Hungry Onion outing!

9 Likes

Hello! Carroll Gardens here :slight_smile: I don’t post much in the regional forums but maybe I should start :slight_smile: What’s your favorite place to eat in your neck of the woods?

Hi, mig! Not so much that I’m crazy about locally. I lean towards Chinese when it’s good but there’s nothing really notable that I know locally. I do like going to Flushing and Elmhurst for such. What about your neighborhood? Also where else would one post?

I post mainly in the Cooking topics.

Let’s see… I was for years obsessed with the soup of the day at Zaytoon’s (it was beef+veg, lamb+veg or chicken+veg), which sadly closed its Carroll Gardens outpost before the pandemic, forcing me to travel to Prospect Heights for a bowl of soup :wink: I also love Dominican or Puerto Rican neighborhood joints for pernil, empanadas and sancocho. There’s one on Smith Street I like, El Nuevo Portal. I like sushi at Osaka on Court Street, and the extremely excellent French pastry (especially kouign-amann and the individual quiches) at Le French Tart, also on Court. There’s far too much good pastry in the nabe, specifically Bien Cuit for French and Konditori for Swedish.

There was never good Thai in the neighborhood (only very sweet Americanized stuff) until Ugly Baby opened. Unfortunately I found it so incredibly spicy I abandoned my plate, but I know many adventurous eaters make it a point to get there.

2 Likes