Great Pizza in Fairfield County CT

Let’s see if we can match the Cheesesteak thread down 95…

Pizza…everyone knows that CT has the best pizza in the US. That should see if non-CT people are reading.

In Fairfield County what are people’s favorites. I think are four stellar pizzas:

• Locali (New Canaan)
  • Bar Sugo (Norwalk)
  • Fortina - (Stamford)
  • Amore (Stamford)

There are a few places I owe a visit to and they are not on the list only because I have no personal knowledge. These include Brick & Wood and Firehouse, both in Fairfield, and Re Napoli in Greenwich (same owner as Amore above). I would have added Stanziato in Newtown, but have been since the new chef arrived.

And for the pink elephant in the room, Pepe’s in Fairfield. I do not think it is that good and nowhere near Pepes or Sally’s in NH. Then Colony, I like it but not in the same league as the top 4.

So what have I missed?

Middlesex County

• Mondo (Middletown)
  • Otto (Chester)
  • Al Forno (Old Saybrook)

Oh, maybe you weren’t looking for options outside FFD County. But these are our local favorites.

The beauty of the internet is discussions have a life of their own. If it is important, thenpost, HO owns the thread, we are just chiselers on their wall.

Otto - is that a $20, 8 inch frufru pie sorta place?

Why, yes–yes, it is!

No. But you might think so if you find Calabrese chiles to be “fru-fru.” Pretty sure the pies are bigger than 8" and we’ve enjoyed all sorts of varieties there. The wood-roasted olives are also excellent.

http://www.ottochester.com/#!menus/c1yi7

Is this related to Amore in Armonk? I recently asked about Stanziatos and you mentioned that you were not sure any more. Someone else responded that it is really great.