Grating/shredding large quantities by hand

8 Likes

I find a tray is more stable than a bowl with a small bottom.

Yesterday, I have to grate a large amount of chocolate (curly effect for decoration), not easy as the chocolate are in chips. Tried using a peeler, but it took very long, and melted fast.

1 Like

In that case, Iā€™d melt and temper the chips and form a block, then shave or grate the block.

1 Like

When I grate quantities of anything itā€™s usually cheese. I use a box grater. I set it on a piece of waxed paper, grate as much as I need then lift the grater off of the pile of cheese after grating and use the waxed paper to transfer it to a bowl or storage container.

4 Likes

Whatā€™s your favored method of tempering if you donā€™t have a tempering machine? Is there a minimum amount you would temper (this is home use)? Iā€™m trying to replicate a chocolate I had recently. I have a lot of experience with chocolate in baking, but not in confectionery.

by hand I use a box grater - and anyone who has issues with build up of grated stuff on a solid surface has many issues of undefined natureā€¦
otoh, I use a tapered ā€˜old styleā€™ Kitchen Aid mixer attachment for quantities that exceed my wrist toleranceā€¦

btw and fwiw and fyi . . . the straight barrel attachments are regularly dissed - for max usability go with the tapered cone shredding/cutting disks - the shredded stuff rotates out of the tapered disk, one needs a ā€˜stickā€™ to remove/clear the shredded stuff from a cylindrical shredding disk.

Remember that if grating potatoes for latkes, knuckle blood is a required ingredient.

5 Likes

I have really bad hand/wrist/elbow/shoulder arthritis, which makes me even more vulnerable to fear of shredding knuckles/fingers when doing the last bits of box grating.