Freezing cheese - advice please

One of my favourite cheeses is Bourne’s farmhouse Cheshire. Mr & Mrs Bourne sell it at one of my local farmers markets and I always buy a large piece at the market just before Christmas. It appears on Christmas Day after the turkey and before the pudding (and it’s then around till New Year).

The market is usually held on the weekend before Christmas but, this year, they’ve changed the date to the beginning of December. Now, the Bourne’s sell their cheese at peak condition for eating so I’m doubtful it’s going to keep that way for a month. Hence me asking about freezing it - something I’ve never done before.

I know that, technically, I can freeze a hard cheese like a Cheshire. But my query is how much, if any, the flavour and texture will be affected. Will it still be a worthy food to serve to the family on Christmas Day or should I look to other cheeses I can buy nearer the time.

TIA

According to the company website, the cheese, well wrapped, can be kept frozen up to 12 months without issue.

In that case, even more stupid of me than not looking first at the website, was that I was at the market yesterday and could have asked Mrs Bourne.

2 Likes

No biggie, @Harters. The info is all that matters. Visiting the site, I learned something along the way!

In my experience, the cheese loses moisture and becomes “crumbly”. Crumbles when cut, flavor is fine, texture changes.

1 Like

I have had that happen with loose, high moisture cheeses not dry cheeses.

I haven’t tried with your cheese.

The usual advice is hard cheese like Comté, the seller’s advice if wrapped in the original wax paper, you can store in the bottom of the fridge for 3 months. In reality, I would say it’s about a month. And you said your market is in early december, and it will be a 3 week wait till Christmas, I don’t think there will be a problem storing in the fridge.