Do you bake bread regularly?

I think many people eat bread daily or at least every other day. Yet, my impression is that majority of people do not bake bread on a regular basis. This means most people buy bread, which explains why there are tons of bread in stores.

Why is that? Is it because:
a) It is too time consuming to bake bread at home
b) It is too laborsome to bake bread at home
c) It is too expensive to bake bread at home

I rarely bake bread because I am not that good at it, so you can put me down as in b). However, a) and c) also apply for me as well. I am just curious if people bake most of their own bread or they buy most of their own bread. I boiught 99% of my bread.

I started baking my own baguettes a few months ago. Itā€™s not labor-intensive, but it does require that I be home for most of a day, turning the bread a few times during the rise, shaping the loaves, preheating the baking steel, etc. And it took me about 6 or 7 tries before I was satisfied with the result - thatā€™s a lot of sub-par bread to suffer through. But now I mostly have it down, and my bread is definitely cheaper than the loaves I used to buy, which were about $4 (from Our Daily Bread or Bread Alone or Pain Dā€™Avignon).

2 Likes

I do bake bread fairly regularly - I am not very good at it, nor do I have much time for it but I really donā€™t like much of the bread easily available at markets near me it is either very low quality and full of shortening or really spendy and still mediocre

unless I have time and luxury to experiment I generally use either the bread machine or the NYT no knead method.

The bread machine makes only OK bread not great bread but it can make it while I sleep and the NYT no knead bread is great - if limited to one type. It requires planning ahead but the timing fits in well with a workaday schedule

1 Like