do I need a mandoline and if so, which brand/model?

from time to time, I’ve thought it would be nice to have a mandoline but probably no more than 2-3 times a year. I promised to make Oklahoma burgers for the kids so it’s one of those times.
when I worked in a restaurant in college, they were used quite a bit but I’ve managed with a sharp knife until now.

wirecutter likes the super benriner

1 Like

I’ve had both a benriner and an OXO & decidedly prefer the latter. I’m on my second one now.

1 Like

I have an OXO V-slicer that I use only sporadically, but when I use it, I use the hell out of it. Every couple of years, I make a ton of bread and butter pickles, and I like them wavy. I had a crinkle cutter that worked, but cutting 20 lbs of cucumbers with it is a non-starter, so I use the V-slicer. I also sometimes use it to cut potatoes when I get the urge to make my own potato chips. Otherwise, I use a knife.

I would not purchase the OXO V-slicer again if I had the choice. I never really thought about it, but a V-slicer does not produce an evenly thick slice, because at the point (apex?), the gap is somewhat larger than on either side. The super benriner to which you link would be, IMO, a better choice.

I don’t regret having a mandoline. I just wish I had chosen a different one.

https://www.oxo.com/v-blade-mandoline-slicer.html

I don’t have a mandoline, so I am not the best knowledgeable person here. I feel it is a matter of how often you do this. If you only do it 2-3 times a year, then you probably won’t need it.

1 Like

I’ve had a Börner V Slicer for at least 25 years and it’s still going strong. Highly recommend.

Can you share the reason? Is it because more comfortable to use?

I have owned many! Mostly from flea markets and garage sales wherr $5 is my price range. European models that retail for around $50. I have kept them set up on my counter, thinking that that might encourage use…but it seldom did. (I offed them to a friend who has a kitchen store,).