Cookware Choice - Health and Safety Ever a Big Consideration?

Many HungryOnion posts are about choosing different cookware materials and construct for heating evenness, heating response, heat retention, and top temperature tolerance…etc. By cookware, I am talking about frying pans, saute pans, sauce pans, stock pots…etc.

Have health or safety ever be a top consideration for your cookware choice? For example, I know there was a small resurrection of Vision and Vitroflam glass cookware because a belief that glass is the healthiest cookware.

People, please be open-minded about people expressing what you may not agree. For example, if someone believes XYZ is not safe, then let them speak their mind.

1 Like

Hi Chem,

I was a professor of safety at USC and taught about safety systems. IMO, kitchen safety needs to be planned from the very beginning, so that each aspect lowers the risk more.

The aspect I feel I’ve addressed most successfully is knife safety through grabability.

1 Like

Safety for me is a consideration, but not a major one. This is probably because, with the exception of lead- or cadmium-based ceramic glazes, I don’t believe any cookware is making cooked food unhealthy.

My safety considerations about cookware mostly concern unintentional consequences, e.g., burnt PTFE or exploding Pyrex.

But I am also concerned on a “meta” scale over industrial processes that pollute, such as PTFE (and other chemicals) and semiconductor component production

2 Likes

I belive we have a lot of people, who boycott non stick cookware for health reasons, and I understand them.

Being the hypocrite I am and full of double standards, I will most likely hang on to my non stick cookware for as long as they are still being produced for when I make certain delicate & starchy things, where even a well seasoned carbon steel and cast iron pan still - in my view - can’t beat a non stick pan for cooking result and use of less fat while cooking.