Cleaning Shrimp…

I’ve a lot of experience with shelling and deveining shrimp… but some of my fav shrimp recipes involve slicing the shrimp in half lengthwise. When I do this I am seeing another vein like thing along the inside curve of the shrimp. It looks like a thick black hair, and it is easily removed by just pressing the tip of my knife down over a section of it on the cutting board, and dragging the shrimp away. It really does feel like a second, much finer vein.

What the heck is this? And if it is some other kind of vein, I’m bummed I have been eating this in whole shrimp I cook.

If nobody knows what I am talking about I can post a pict later today… just lemmeno.

1 Like

Nerve.
I usually remove both, but they are quite different. The larger one on the back is digestive intestine. The smaller one on the bottom is a nerve cord.

Most restaurants do not remove the nerve cord. So even when you and I remove the nerve cords, when you eat out, vast majority of your shrimp dish will have this. Some don’t even remove the digestive tract. :sweat_smile:

7 Likes

Thanks! So what is your method for removing the nerve on whole shrimp? Just another incision on the underbelly and perhaps tweezers?

I use my favorite knife, inexpensive Victoronix, serrated with pointed, not rounded, tip. I just use the tip to score an opening, then easily remove with the tip. I only buy wild caught shrimp from Whole Foods. Sometimes you can get them to clean the shrimp for you. (I only buy when they are on sale, prime membership.)

1 Like

To be honest, I just use a paring knife. However, I know there are special tools, but I have never used them myself.

When I want to keep the shrimp whole, then I just slice on top and bottom and remove the two veins. For a few shrimps, I use the knife itself to remove the veins too. For a large number of shrimps, then I put them in still water or running water to rinse the vein out of the shrimp.