Chinese in the DC/DMV area?

I have been looking for new Chinese places to visit and someone mentioned Northwest Chinese Food in College Park so I met my brother and checked it out. It was outstanding! I am no expert but it was seemingly authentic Chinese food! We started w Cumin Lamb Homemade Bread/Rou Jia Mo. the lamb was simply delicious, loved this dish. The Black Vinegar Peanuts were good not great. Tough to finish many w just chopsticks…
Then we split the Red Oil Sesame Dumplings, these were outstanding!
Finally I had the Oil Seared Knife Cut Noodles w tomato and egg. Very good! Will try it w minced pork next time, that looked good as well!
My other long time favorite is A&J in Annandale. I had the braised egg with pork for a starter, then I got the Szechuan wonton in Red sauce and the Suan La Mian/Thin Noodles in A&J special hot sauce. I probably shouldn’t admit to this but I like pouring my wontons in red sauce over the top of the Suan La Mian, it makes the two dishes even better as a combo. I also tried the Xiao Long Bao which was ok, not great.
Both places were eat in and seemingly doing well.
Any suggestions for Chinese in the DMV area would be very welcome!

Now let me see how my photo enclosure skills are working…
Here are photos of the menu at A&J, followed by the braised egg with pork, the wontons and Suan La Mian and finally the Xiao Long Bao.

6 Likes

Well, my A&J photos are out of order but they are easy to identify. Here are the photos from Northwest Chinese in College Park.
In no particular order our dishes were:
Spicy Beef Soup w Knife Cut Noodles, really nicely spiced dish and the beef was excellent.
Cumin Lamb Homemade Bread/Rou Jia Mo, the lamb was simply delicious, loved this dish.
The Black Vinegar Peanuts were good not great.
Red Oil Sesame Dumplings, these were outstanding!
Oil Seared Knife Cut Noodles w tomato and egg.

5 Likes