Ceramic Cookware Suggestions

Hello Everyone,

Does anyone here have experience with ceramic cookware? I’m by no means a professional, just looking for something decent for my family that isn’t toxic.

I’ve been seeing Caraway ads and read a positive review on them but just wondering what other people think.

Thank you!

Hmm. I had to look that up. We have a good bit of ceramic bakeware but not pots and pans, beyond a Dutch oven.

When my wife and I merged households about 14 years ago we found we both had the same brand and vintage of cookware (stainless steel Farberware) and bakeware (white Corningware). We have other bits and pieces (a couple of Swiss Diamond covered sautes that are our most used pans, some Lodge cast iron, and quite old Pyrex oven-safe glassware come to mind). We only recently bought an enamel coated cast iron Dutch oven (fundamentally ceramic) that we are quite pleased with. I suspect our overlap is due to having made solid acquisitions at the same general time with the same general economic circumstances.

I did some poking around. This discussion seems credible:

This also:

Mechanically, ceramic cookware appears to be as subject to scratches from metal utensils as Teflon coated cookware.

A different set of Google searches that presuppose cooking surfaces are NOT safe provided a lot of results, but none with any credibility, not even lay credibility. Food Babe sort of conspiracy theories.

As I said, we’re quite happen with our enamel/ceramic Dutch oven. I can’t say it is any easier to clean than our stainless steel pots and pans. The Swiss Diamond pans (which are non-stick but not Teflon) are easiest to clean of anything we have.

I note that the Caraway pans cost about twice as much as today’s Farberware sets.