Cast Iron Seasoning: Flaxseed Oil is Fragile but Slick, Crisco is Tough, Why Not Mix Oils?

Please take everything I say with 2 Tablespoons of salt, I’m no expert
I wanted to get this article out there, not affiliated but I found it very informational. It is a comprehensive look at seasoning cast iron cookware:
http://www.castironcollector.com/seasoning.php

I had read from numerous sources that seasoning with flaxseed oil (I was going to us walnut cuz it’s similar and waaay cheaper) has been all the rage for a while now due to America’s Test Kitchen promoting it’s slippery polymerization. However there seems to be something not considered: durability.

Carbon content of the oil plays a role, see link. Apparently flaxseed just can’t render a finish as tough as Crisco or traditional oils like tallow/lard/bacon grease. You might apply several layers of flaxseed oil that will still serve you well, but it still won’t be as tough.

My idea: Mix oils! Is that a no-no? Why not use something like… 5 parts Crisco, 1 part flax/walnut? Then you get a little added slickness.

Anyways, let me know if you have any ideas on mixing oils. I will be reading this looong Chowhound thread some day that discusses all this at length: https://www.chowhound.com/post/ultimate-season-cast-iron-cooks-illustrated-757023?page=2

2 Likes

I just use regular cooking oil. The way I see it is that you will eventually use regular cooking oil on your cookware, and that is what the seasoning surface. You can try to initially season your cookware using an unique oil, but overtime, the original coating will come off from wear and tear and the cooking oil will be replacing that seasoning layer anyway.

Best advice I’ve received: stop obsessing over seasoning and just start cooking. Use olive or vegetable oil, a lot at first. Shallow fry onion straws, chicken pieces, etc. it will get better over the next few uses and then you can cut down on the oil used for cooking. Do not start with bacon or sausage.