Best ways to use Lyle’s Golden Syrup?

My lovely neighbor gifted me a can of Lyle’s Golden Syrup, which I have never used before. She’s fond of it on pancakes, but I was thinking maybe we’d enjoy the Lyle’s more in a baked good or another application. (Pancakes require maple syrup in my breakfast universe.)

If you are a fan of Lyle’s Golden Syrup, do you have a favorite way to use it?

1 Like

I just use it in my coffee. Probably not the best use, but I thought it tasty.

1 Like

My absolute favourite way is with steamed sponge pudding . Must serve with lots of custard.

https://www.bbc.com/food/recipes/steamedgoldensyrupsp_91206

Also good on sourdough toast with salted bitter. Has to be salted so you get the salted caramel vibe going on.

2 Likes

I use it in recipes instead of corn syrup, especially in my caramel candies. But it would be good replacing corn syrup in pecan pie, too.

1 Like

@bbqboy, @paprikaboy, @Babette—all of these suggestions are so helpful and enlightening.

That steamed pudding sounds approachable and tempting. Could be a fun dessert to share with our neighbor.

And I already love pecan pie at Thanksgiving. Swapping in Lyle’s for corn syrup appeals.

1 Like

Absolutely.

Although I have also been known to use it in place of maple syrup when I’ve resented paying the price of the maple.

1 Like

Yes, I use it to make a Canadian treat - butter tarts, instead of corn syrup or maple syrup. If you’re OK with cup measures and not weighed – www.chatelaine.com/recipes/chatelainekitchen/the-ultimate-butter-tart-recipe/. I use readymade pastry

3 Likes

But I also love it in oatmeal/porridge. Yum.

1 Like

I dont have golden syrup but a jar of brown rice syrup needs long overdue attention. Anyone know if they are interchangeable in a pudding recipe? The BBC link looks deliciously easy. @tomatotomato thanks for asking the question. I had never heard of golden syrup.

1 Like